Skip to content

Collective Haul

September 5, 2013

Okay, before I start, I just want to clarify  that these items were bought sporadically in a period of 3 months.

Needless to say, I only realized that I totally bombed my shopping budget when I finally got around to shooting a collective haul.  -__-  But at that point, what else can I do but use and enjoy them?

totally went overboard.  Even I have to admit that. -_- The thing is… I wasn’t planning on purchasing Real Techniques brushes.  Or the Beauty Blender.  Even the Con Air heat waves, but they sort of snuck up on me and I just wasn’t able to resist.

I’ll tell you all about it as I run through the items and give my mini reviews and first impression on these items.

Con Air Heat Waves with Jumbo and Super Jumbo rollers and clip

This was an impulse purchase.  I have super straight and fine hair so I am obsessed with curlers and rollers.  I’ve wanted to get one of these ever since I saw Judy of itsjudytime use this on her hair tutorial.  Nobody sells Con Air styling products locally, except for the random curling irons here and there.  So when I spotted this in an online shop, I just HAD TO get it! …  This was P2000.00 including shipping.  I think it’s a pretty fair price already because this is about 40.00 USD.

I’ve used this a couple of times already and I just love how easy it is to use!  Totally worth the dent in my wallet! haha!

Double Drawer Acrylic Cosmetic Organizer 

I got this from an online store for about P350.00 I think.  It’s a really good price because other shops sells this for P550.00.  I had to reorganize my dresser to accomodate this.  In the end, I just switched the top part with the old one (place on top of the drawers) that I was using because the items I had just can’t fit in the other one.  I’m setting it aside, in case I feel like re organizing again. 🙂

Nicole Powder Sifter 

Got these for P40.00++ each at Watsons.  I use this for my Ben Nye Banana powder.  I’m thinking of getting the Cameo and Neutral set soon so I purchased a back up sifter.  These are a bit hard to find because not all Watsons store stocks them.  I bought the first one in Watsons Greenhills and the back up in Watsons SM North The Block. 🙂

Double Duo Beauty Blender Kit 

Ah, the ubiquitous Beauty Blender.  I refused to be sucked in by the hype when they started to appear in online stores last year.  I was never a fan of sponges when it comes to makeup application so I wasn’t interested in this.  I remember thinking that it’s a ridiculously overpriced sponge that will definitely suck all of your foundation into it’s greedy core.

I remained a skeptic until my cousin Giezelle of Third World Fashion insisted that it’s really good.  Now, if you know my cousin, she loves looking for dupes of expensive products.  The fact that she insisted for me to try this means it’s an exceptional product.

I got a great deal for this because I pre-ordered it from The Makeup Junkie Shop 🙂  The lowest price I’ve seen for on-hand stock of this kit is P2100.00 and it can even go up to P2550.00.  But I only got mine for P1900.00 😀

I had to wait for about 3 weeks, but that’s completely fine since I didn’t need them urgently.

You know what? I TOTALLY ADORE this thing!  It’s the most amazing beauty tool everrrrrrr!  I have dry skin so using a beauty blender to apply my makeup base is a nice way to avoid build up on dry patches.  Plus it makes any makeup base look fantastic on my skin!

Real Techniques Brushes 

Duo Fiber Collection (LE), Powder Brush, Blush Brush, Stippling Brush, Expert Face Brush, Lash and Brow Groomer, Eye Starter Set

This is another line of product that I studiously ignored since last year.  I just knew that if I bought any of it, I will end up buying more, so I convinced myself not to buy any of it and that the brightly colored handles are rather tacky.

They just had to ruin my resolve by coming up with the Duo Fiber collection.  I am a sucker for Duo Fiber brushes and white brush handles.  And the Duo Fiber set was just really beautiful, so I bought it… Then Carefreeshopper started selling all of them at lower prices, and I was an absolute goner.

I don’t regret it though, because these brushes are comparable to high end brushes, and I am really happy I was sucked into the Real Techniques vortex.

Oh I have a review coming up for these!  I’m probably the last person to jump into the RT bandwagon, but better late than never right?

Chic Cosmetics 5-piece Kabuki Brush Set

Where to start?   I  have a love-hate relationship with this brush set.  These are supposed to be dupes for the Sigma Kabuki brushes and while these brushes work well, there are some nuances that makes these subpar copies of Sigma.

To be fair, the brushes are actually nice.  They are nicely made, starting from the black wooden handles and the Sigma-ish font used for branding down to the soft bristles.  The flat top one is excellent and I love using it to apply my makeup base.

So what’s the catch?  Well there are several:

A) The brushes are not as densely packed as it looks.

B) There are random prickly bristles in some of the brushes

C)  The brushes bleed and they shed even after the first few times I spot cleaned them with Parian Spirit.  I didn’t dare deep clean them because I was scared that the bristles will just fall off. 

I guess I shouldn’t be so harsh, because this set is only P1100.00 (I got mine for 1000.00 bec. it was on sale) almost the same as the price of one Sigma F80 and barely 1/3 the price of the Sigma Kabuki set.   I can forgive the fact that it’s not as dense as Sigma brushes.  After all, they do function just as well.

But I just cannot get over the prickliness and shedding. -_- Even Landmark brushes do not do that!  I read a lot of reviews about these and there wasn’t a single complaint about them, which is why I decided to get them.  I was so sad that I got disappointed because I really really wanted to like them.

I sent a feedback to the seller, telling her about my concerns because I might have gotten a bad batch.  She apologized about it and even sent me another set.  No questions asked.  I offered to return the first set but she insisted that there is no need.  I am yet to use the second set (but i did poke around to see if they have prickly bristles.  They didn’t!) so I can’t say for certain if my first set was a dud.

I already have a review for these brushes coming up so check back for that if you’re interested 🙂

ELF Stipple Brush, ELF Small Stipple Brush and Artist Studio Crease brush 

ELF Stipple brush is available in all leading dept. stores for P249.75, but the small stipple brush is only available in online stores.  I got both online for P200.00 each.  These brushes are too flimsy to use for foundations but I find that it’s excellent to use with very pigmented blushes.  The bristles are very bendy and do not pick up a lot of product so they’re perfect to use with my La Femme Blush palette.

Artist Studio brushes are inexpensive brushes from the Landmark.  I love this brand!  Their brushes are really soft and sturdy.  All of their brushes are priced at P140.00 below.   This crease brush is about 60 or 70 pesos.  Can’t really remember.  I really like this!  It’s perfect for blending in eyeshadow shades.  I always use this to apply my eyeshadow when I’m in a hurry and it’s works really well. 🙂

The best part?  Their brushes do not look or feel cheap at all! 🙂

Purederm and Beauty Buffet Face Masks

I have been obsessed with face masks lately.  I much prefer the “face pack” more the the sheet variant, and these are the ones that I’ve been using for the past months 🙂

You can get these at any Watsons store.  The face packs are P39.75 each.  They sometimes have a buy 2 take 1 sale on these so keep your eyes peeled for the tiny “sale” sign on the racks.   The Collagen Eye Zone face masks are my absolute favorite!  I apply them right before going to sleep.  I wake up with dried up sheets on my face (or they sometimes peel off) and lighter looking under eyes! ❤

I’ve tried a lot of face mask sheets, but so far, the Caviar and Biopeptide from Beauty Buffet (P44.00) is the one I always go back to.  Unlike some sheet masks, this variant do not sting the eyes and it leaves my skin looking fresh and supple.

Garnier BB Cream 

These much raved about BB creams are so hard to get!!! They aren’t available locally and no one stocks them so I had to pre order it. -_-  The price was almost double the US price at P700.00 each, but still a good value for money since each tube has 75mL of product in it.  I ordered 2 because I have a really good feeling this will work well for me.

I tried a Garnier BB cream from Thailand a few months ago and I really loved it!  The formulation is a bit different though, so I’ll be creating a comparison post between the two. I promise that I will write it within the month. 😀

ELF: Eyebrow Kit in Medium, Stencil and Lip Exfoliator – NYX Matte Lipstick in Tea Rose and Natural Look palette, BYS Eyebrow pencil, Makeup Academy Undress Me Too Palette, Wet’n’Wild Walking on Eggshells Eyeshadow Trio, Maybelline BB Stick in Fresh

These are a bunch of products that I’ve been meaning to get for some time.  I managed to purchase them bit by bit the past months.  All of these are nice except for the BB stick.  It broke me out!  Which NEVER EVER happens!  UCK.  and the BYS eyebrow pencil which is just too slick and soft to work nicely as an eyebrow pencil.

Totally regretting that I purchased those.  As for the others, you will be seeing some of them in my upcoming Favorites post 😀

Bioderma Sensibio Solution Micelle 

*excuse the crappy foggy looking photo*

This is probably the most raved about makeup remover ever.  I’ve been curious about this but I never got around to buying one because most online stores sell this for P1350.00 or P1400.00.  C-R-A-Z-Y.  I know the shipping could be expensive, but really?!  I’ve seen these in French pharmacies when I was in Paris over 2 years ago and you can get two 500mL bottle for only 15 Euros.   That is about 900 bucks for two bottles.

Now you know why I refuse to pay more than triple the price for this thing.

Until I spotted this in Watsons SM Aura.  I remembered that the BYS counter there had one bottle of Bioderma and they even encourage customers to use it when removing product swatches.  I only wanted to check out if it was still there when I saw they are now selling this particular Bioderma product… PLUS it was only P799.00.  That’s probably the best price I could get here in Manila so I immediately purchased it and tried it when I got home.

I have to give it Bioderma, because this product is really worth the hype!  It’s really mild but it effectively removes makeup and does not sting.

I found a cheaper alternative to this just a few weeks ago and I’m currently testing them for a comparison post. 🙂

Let me know if you’re interested to see that. 🙂

99% Alcohol by Nigel FX Beauty Emporium 

I am an avid follower of Wayne Goss of Gossmakeupartist on Youtube.  I just love love LOVE his makeup ideas and techniques.  Ironically enough, the first time I heard about him was in a hate post about his brush cleaning method.

He uses 99% percent alcohol to clean his brushes.  And his brushs are no ordinary brushes.  He uses mostly Tom Ford, Rae Morries, Hakuhodo, Make Up For Ever, and Nars.  Yes. You read that right.  I was a bit skeptical at first, but you know, if it’s good enough for his brushes then they sure as well worth trying!

I used to deep clean my brushes every 2-3 weeks and it takes me HOURS to do it.  It was a relief when I started using Parian Spirit, which works well.   But Wayne’s method really piqued my curiosity, so when I saw that Purebeauty Trinoma sells 99% alcohol, I purchased one right away.

And you know what?  I loved it!  It’s so inexpensive and it really works!  Nevermind what people say about making your brushes brittle.  It is not true.  All those overpriced brush cleaners from other brands have loads of 99% alcohol in them.  The only difference is they have “oils” and perfume that makes your brushes smell nice.  But overtime, those emollient oils actually cause residue build up on your brushes.

Right now I alternate this with Parian Spirit and deep clean when necessary. 🙂

Graftobian 99% alcohol in 150mL spray bottle – P250.00

Nigel FX Beauty Emporium 16 oz. 99% alcohol – P585.00 

Brush Guards from Beauty Bar (P249.00) and Chic Cosmetics (P285.00)

I like to use these after cleaning and air drying my brushes to keep my them in tip top shape.  Each pack comes with 15 brush guards in varying sizes.

Vintage Louis Vuitton bag, Charlie Sunglasses, Staccato Captoe pumps, Stradivarius Strappy flat sandals, Alexander McQueen Paddington Boots in Blood Red

I didn’t have a lot of fashion purchases the past few months, because obviously, I spent most of my money on beauty products.  However these are some of the items I just couldn’t pass up buying!

I got the LV bag for a really good deal from a friend and the McQueen boots from Unisex Rewind.  These have to be the best designer finds I’ve ever had as of late.

I know captoe pumps are so last year,  but I never stopped wanting these Staccato pumps so I bought them when CMG had a 50% off sale.   As for the sandals, well, I really love Stradivarius and they caught me at a weak moment because I was looking for a pair of flats the day I spotted these… Well, you know what happened next.

—–

That was everything I bought the past three months!  Well at  least the beauty and fashion related ones.  Whew! I feel like I’ve been typing and typing and typing endlessly!  I hope I didn’t bore you with all of my ramblings.  I was torn between keeping it short or being detailed.  So I tried doing both…. What do you think?

Let me know if there are products your are interested in so I can create a more in-depth review.  Simply leave me a comment if you have questions or suggestions!

Thank you so much for bearing with me and reading this post up to here.

Cheers!

Erika

P.S.  Posting my August beauty favorites in the next few days! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2013 6:44 am

    Hello! I just wanted to ask where did you get the acrylic organizer and the brush guards? I’m fixing my make up stash and I need more stuff to put my makeup in. 🙂

    • December 2, 2013 10:34 am

      Hi! I got mine online, but last I checked, the shop no longer stocks them. 😦 You can get these at the Landmark or SM Dept. store. 🙂 I got the Brush Guards at Beauty Bar for 245.00 for 15 pcs. 🙂 Hope this helps! Thank you for dropping by my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

