Skip to content

New In: Beauty Goodies

August 13, 2013

If you’re a follower of my blog, you would know that I worked for Mega magazine for about 8 months last year.  Well, a few months back, I had a meeting with Ning of meg magazine (MEGA’s sister magazine) for a skin treatment article she wanted me to write for  their August issue.

It was quite scary because Ning has very high standards when it comes to her sections and it was my first beauty article.  Ever.

Now I don’t know if it passed muster because I’m not a skin treatment fanatic and writing for a magazine is very different from beauty blogging.  But I guess I’ll just have to check the latest issue to find out. 😀 *crossing my fingers*

But going back to the point of this post, after the meeting, Ning handed me this bag full of beauty goodies to try. Yay!  Thanks Ning! 

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s inside:

There is nothing more exciting than being face to face with a bunch of new beauty products… that and traveling… or shopping.  Ehhhh.  You get the point.

See what I mean? 😛

Garnier sheet mask – not a big fan of sheet masks or whitening products so I haven’t opened this yet.

Will review it when I’ve tried it.  So far, I haven’t seen this in any Watsons or SM Department stores I’ve been to lately so I don’t know how much it is either.  Completely unhelpful.  I know.

Davines Mellow Anti-breakage shampoo with Spinach extract – this shampoo is made for me!  Long hair? CHECK! Damaged hair DOUBLE CHECK! Prone to breakage?  CHECK CHECK CHECK!

I’ve been using sulfate free shampoos because I dyed my hair recently but I’m going to switch to this soon to see if it makes a difference.  This is rather runny but has a pleasantly mild fragrance.

I couldn’t find any posts about this but I saw that it’s about USD 25.00 for a 250mL bottle.

Kiehl’s Actively Correcting and Beautifying BB Cream with Vitamin C and SPF 50 PA+++ 

I am an avid BB cream user and I’ve wanted to try this since I saw Dawn of Peachy Pink Sisters review this.  I’m currently using a gel moisturizer with no sunscreen so I prefer BB creams with high SPF.

I absolutely loved the consistency of this BB cream.  It was really creamy but easy to blend.  This is in the shade fair and it was a perfect match for my skin tone.  I think Dawn didn’t like this because she has oily skin, but I have dry skin so I didn’t have any problems with the formulation.  Despite the high SPF, this didn’t give me a white cast in photos.   The only negative point is it has a rather funky smell that really put me off of it.

Available in all Kiehl’s stores at P1995.00 for a 30mL tube.

Maybelline Lumineyes quad in Gray

I have the purple version of this quad and I have to say both palettes are pretty impressive in terms of pigmentation and and staying power.  I’ve worn the purple one without a primer and it lasted the whole day without creasing.

These are powder eyeshadows but the texture is very creamy and easy to blend.

This is available in all Maybelline counters nationwide at P499.00 each.  

Revlon Nail Art 

If you know me personally, then you would know that I love nail polish!  My collection is close to 400 bottles now so I haven’t been buying any lately, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like getting them as gifts 😛

This line of nail polish from Revlon prompted a lot of other brands to do the same dual ended bottle thing.  I think this format for nail polish is great because you get 2 nail polish shades for the price of one.

 Revlon came up with 3 types of nail art lacquer.  Ning probably knows I’m a nail polish girl so she gave me one of each.

  The Moon Candy (top) which is a duo consisting of a base shade and a top coat with iridescent flakey top coat.  The one I have is Moonstone. 

Expressionist is a combination of 2 bright contrasting colors.  The combinations are rather random.  I’ve been to a Revlon counter to check and they have creme/creme and creme/frost duos.  The one I have is Pop Art and both are creme formulas.

Neon is composed of 2 colors, one is a base shade and the other a bright color that will transition to a neon color when worn on top of the opaque base.

Consistency of the nail polish is similar to regular Revlon nail polish, which I do love.

These are P299.00 each at Revlon counters.

—-

That’s everything that was in the bag.   I know I haven’t been updating much lately, so I also included mini reviews in this post (as always!) because as much as I want to make individual reviews, I can’t seem to find the time to do so.   But if you have any questions about the products that I haven’t included up there, then just leave me a comment and I’ll try to answer as soon as I can.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post!  Until next time! 🙂

Cheers!

Erika

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2013 1:22 am

    Yayy! You bought the Kiehl’s BB! I gave mine to my sister and she loves it! It works perfectly on her. And I want those revlon Nail Art too!! I’m sooo gonna buy some… But will probably skip the neons… or maybe not… It’s so haaaard! :))

    • August 19, 2013 6:47 am

      I love how the BB cream works! 🙂 Don’t like the scent lang talaga -_- haha! anyhoo, I think you can skip the neon nail art polish. Get the Moon Candy ones. The flakey top coat is good naman.

  2. Dee permalink
    August 27, 2013 6:31 am

    Post more!!! ♥

Leave a Reply

