Skip to content

First Impression: Essence and Pinkies Collection

June 11, 2013

Hi everyone!

I’ve been meaning to write about Essence ever since the brand was made available locally, but I always get sidetracked!  No more!  Today I’m going to show you swatches and my first impression on their Sun Club matte bronzing powder in the shade for Blondes.

Essence Sun Club Matt Bronzing Powder for Blondes (Php 259.00 for 15g)

Rave: I love the shade of this bronzer!  It’s not muddy or orange-y so it’s perfect for contouring.  You can also brush it on your cheeks and T-zone to add warmth to your face. It’s nicely pigmented, but not overly so that you’d have a hard time blending it (yes Sleek contour kit, I’m talking about you!).  This bronzer is available in 2 shades, 1 for Brunettes and 1 for Blondes.  Honestly, there isn’t much of a difference between the 2 so doesn’t really matter which one you’d get.  They look exactly the same when swatched.

Rant : The only thing I don’t like about this bronzer is the scent.  It smells like fake-vanilla flavoring, which is disgusting.  I’m not iffy about scented products but the smell of this  bronzer  is so strong that it really puts me off!  In case you’re interested in this bronzer, I strongly advise that you take a whiff of the tester before buying it to see how you like the scent.

The verdict?  I’ll keep on using this bronzer but I probably won’t repurchase until they come up with a fragrance free version.

Essence is a German drugstore brand and it’s available in the beauty section of select SM Department stores. 🙂

I was so STOKED when I found out that Essence is already available here!  I used to get my Essence cosmetics fix in Watsons Singapore, and I’m just so happy it’s now easier to get it.  I also love how the price isn’t blown up like most imported brands. ❤

On the flip side, be careful with the storage of these products, especially for solid but creamy products like lipsticks, concealers and pencils because they don’t hold up well in warm weather.  I have a couple of concealers and kajal pencils from Essence and I noticed that they oil up and melt a little when it gets warm.

But that’s a post for another day.

Moving on, the rest of the products that I will show you today are from Pinkies Collection.

Pinkies Collection Blusher in RUST (Php 149.50)  and Eyeshadow in SKINTONE (Php 70.00) and Bronze (Php 75.00) 

I’ve heard quite a lot of reviews about this local beauty brand and I have to say the raves are well-deserved.

They have an extensive collection in the Watsons beauty section in SM Aura, compared to other SM dept. stores.  I usually skip out on browsing local beauty products but the display counters at SM Aura are so nicely laid out and it’s not crowded  so I didn’t feel rushed or harassed while swatching the eyeshadow and blushes.

According to the saleslady, Pinkies Collection is made in France even though it’s Filipino owned.  Hesitant to purchase?   The company supports a charity and they donate a portion of the sales for every product that you buy.  Isn’t that cool?

Pinkies Collection blush in Rust

This blush looks more coral than pink in real life.  Just refer to the swatch below as it’s more true to color.

oh, I also love the simple and sleek packaging.  It doesn’t feel very sturdy but it doesn’t feel flimsy either.  I really favor straightforward containers like this because it’s not so “trying hard” to look expensive or conceal the cheap materials used in packaging.

Rust when swatched – I think I unconsciously picked up another NARS Orgasm lookalike.  I think it’s pretty similar in terms of texture and finish but Rust is more pinkish because Orgasm is a peach-y coral toned blush.

Rave: I favor shimmery blushes so I really like the finish of this blush.  It is a bit more pricey compared to blushes from other local brands, but I can vouch for the quality of this product.  All the other local brands just pale in comparison.  It’s very pigmented and easy to blend (which is always a plus because a little goes a long way) and it lasts for over 5 hours even if you commute.   It lasts longer if you don’t sweat a lot.

I noticed that this blush doesn’t have any strong fragrance so that’s a good thing too!

Rant: I don’t have anything bad to say about this blush!  I was rather impressed with it actually.  The only problem I can see with this blush is the staying power.  If you’re the kind of person who dislikes retouching makeup throughout the day, then you’re better off investing in a longer lasting blush because this will not last long, esp. if you commute or if you sweat a lot.

Eyeshadow pots in Skintone and Bronze 

These eyeshadow singles actually don’t come in pots, but the Pinkies Collection lady was kind enough to give me free pots for my purchases.  Probably because I was the first customer that day? 😀

I accidentally nicked the Bronze shade with my nail the day I bought it. 😦

Anyhoo, I thought the pots were a nice, but notice how they’re exactly like MAC eyeshadow pots?  I guess I shouldn’t dwell on it.  It’s free, for heaven’s sake. 

Bronze & Skintone when swatched 

Skintone is just a bit darker than my skin but it’s still fair enough that it works as a base shade.

Bronze is just as the name says it is, bronze.  It’s the perfect shade to wear if you want to look sunkissed. 🙂 (Don’t forget to warm up your skintone with bronzer so you won’t look so pale)

Rave: I love the texture of these eyeshadows!  It’s buttery and blendable.  Not Urban Decay kind of buttery but for the price you’re paying, these are pretty decent. I am yet to wear these without a primer, so I don’t know how long it would last before creasing.  I’ll make sure to update this post as soon as I’ve given it a wear test. 🙂

Rant:  It can be a bit tricky to make skintone show up on my skin but as I experienced the same with Urban Decay, I don’t think it’s a big deal.  Besides, it’s a base shade.

So if you’re looking for affordable eyeshadow singles, I think these are pretty good.

****

Overall, I’m a bit disappointed with the Essence bronzer because of the scent.  Other than that, it’s all good.  I still love Essence and I will be reviewing the rest of the products that I have from them.

As for Pinkies Collection, I was pleasantly surprised with the brand!  The quality is impressive, considering how affordable it is.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be getting more makeup from them soon. 🙂

That’s it for the first impression and mini review.

Until my next post!

xx

Erika

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2013 7:30 am

    such a shame i haven’t check the local stalls of this brand yet!! will do soon! 🙂 great swatches btw 🙂

    • June 15, 2013 1:51 pm

      Thanks Hazel! 🙂 Let me know if you’ve tried Essence already. Their concealers are pretty good, considering how affordable it is.

  2. June 16, 2013 12:21 am

    amazing shots cuz!gandaaaaaaa!

  3. June 21, 2013 4:14 pm

    Wow, Rust is GANDAAAA.

  4. July 9, 2013 9:45 am

    Hi Erika! Stumbled upon your blog as I was blogwalking. Perfect timing actually as I’m looking for a new Bronzer to try. I love and trust Essences, so itatry ko ‘to! Thanks for the review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

