Skip to content

Curtain Call

December 31, 2012

When I decided to maintain this blog, I made a promise to myself that I won’t be writing about my personal life or anything about my work.  I’m not breaking it entirely but I feel like I should at least air out some general things to remind myself of where I’ve been, where I am now, where I want to be and how I’m gonna get there.

Some milestones in life really needs to be written down to feel “official”.

photo from gs.poetry.com

I graduated from DLSU-M last June 2011.  I took some time off, studied Spanish, traveled to Europe with my cousin before 2011 ended.  It was March 2012 when I started to work for MEGA Magazine as an Editorial Coordinator, something I consider as a big milestone.  I consider it the transition from a college student into a member of the work force.

I really enjoyed working in MEGA and I worked hard.  Maybe too much.   I’m going to tell you out and out, working in the publishing industry is nowhere as glamorous as people think it is. Cliché, I know but it’s true.  Though it’s not nearly as horrible as it is portrayed in The Devil Wears Prada, it didn’t take long for my overprotective parents to worry and I waved away their concerns.  As hectic as my work and life was then, I really did enjoy what I was doing.  I won’t elaborate, but certain circumstances made me realize that if I carried on with the rate I was going, I am going to crash.

Little by little, things seemed to have changed for the worse.  Not only at work but also the situation at home.  It came to a point that I was no longer happy and I started to feel restless.  I started to question everything, most especially the direction of my life.  It was hard but I knew I had to make a decision because delaying the inevitable is nothing but a waste of precious time.

Life is short.  Time is something you can never get back so you should spend it doing things you are passionate about.  Follow your instincts and let go of things you already know isn’t working for you.  Most especially when it isn’t worth the effort.  One-sided relationships are not restricted to romantic relationships.  It’s everywhere.

 I am the kind of person that takes time to discover and accept certain facts.  But when I do and decide on a plan of action, I don’t hesitate to go through with it. I realized that my passion does not lie in the publishing industry.  I’ll always love fashion and beauty as much as I love blogging.   However, I learned that working so close with it isn’t for me.  I am better off as an audience rather than a creator, which is why I decided to let go.

After 8 months of  the rollercoaster that is MEGA, I resigned.

Just like at the end of a theater show, there’s a curtain call.  I’ve officially closed the curtains for that brief chapter in my life, hence the title, Curtain Call.

I took a month off before moving to my new job.

I am happy and more settled now, working in a job that is in line with my degree. I have more time for myself and I can write decent blog posts once or twice a week and I’m also feeling my way around a new business I’m planning to set up.  I’m glad to finally have a balance between work and personal life.  It certainly helped me see where I want to be 5 years from now.  I feel unsettled knowing I have to move to our other house early next year, but I’ll deal with that when it happens.  Some things are better tackled one at a time.  It’s all a matter of prioritizing, and sometimes, compartmentalizing.

As for my misgivings about my first job and leaving, I don’t regret working in MEGA.  On the contrary, I’m glad I did.  I have to admit that I miss it sometimes.  Yes, it is a work equivalent to a baptism by fire.  But it is also a job that sets the bar for you to know how much people will expect from you when you begin working.  I learned a lot of things that I know I will not learn had I worked elsewhere.  I made a lot of friends, met a lot of hard working people and encountered a roster of rather colorful personalities that you wouldn’t believe exists. I learned to never give up on things and to be resourceful and make things work no matter how dire things may seem.  Most of all, I learned how to have fun while working.

So before you dismiss that magazine in your hand as something ditzy, easy to produce and made by a bunch of shallow people, think of how much work, time and planning was done to make it a reality.  I’m quite sure you won’t believe or fathom how much work went into it.

xx

Erika

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lui permalink
    January 8, 2013 11:18 am

    Very well said. =)

Leave a Reply

