Skip to content

Purple Obsession

December 25, 2012

I have a very unhealthy obsession with purple lipstick.

My favorite color is purple.  The deep rich-hued kind and for some weird reason, I am more comfortable wearing dark or bold lip colors than nudes and pinks.  Some ladies I know own multiple shades of pink, nude and red lipstick and you’ll never see them without it.  Well for me, it’s purple lipstick.

I used to be okay with my sparse selection of  red and brown lipsticks until MEGA happened.  I blame a certain makeup artist *ehem* and an elusive limited edition MAC lipstick for this obsessive attitude I have towards the irritatingly hard to find shade.

My small peaceful bubble where purple lipsticks do not exist burst forth and unleashed the unrelenting need to get my hands on the perfect shade of purple.

I am yet to find my MAC Heroine, but so far I am happy with what I managed to amass within 2 months of crazed search of sellers, reading various reviews and lots of deliberation over spending hard earned cash over these:

Top:Revlon Balm Stain in Darling
Clockwise: Sleek Pout Paints in Peekabloo, Pin Up and Mauve Over, 
OCC Lip Tar in Hoochie, Maybelline Colorburst Lipstick in Amethyst Ablaze, 
NYX Round Lipstick in Iced Lavender, Medusa and Violet Ray, 
MAC Pro Longwear Lipcreme in Goes and Goes, MAC Rebel, 
Lime Crime Airborne Unicorn, MAC Up The Amp, OCC Lip Tar in Belladonna

Hodgepodge of my purple lipsticks in varying shades

Sleek Pout paints and OCC lip tars

Revlon Lip Balm stain

*****

I was about to publish this when I realized it looks so boring without any swatches so I delayed posting it until I had the time to swatch the products.  I’ve spent so much time blog hopping for product reviews and swatches when I’m shopping for cosmetics, but it was only until I tried making swatches of lip products that I realized it’s not easy at all.

I damaged some of my lipsticks in the process *cringe* but I think it’s worth it as this post will be more helpful.  At least I hope it would be.

But I digress.

(L-R)

NYX Medusa, NYX Violet Ray, Maybelline Amethyst Ablaze, 
MAC Pro Longwear Lipcreme Goes and Goes, MAC Rebel, MAC Up The Amp, 
Lime Crime Airborne Unicorn

Both NYX Medusa and Violet Ray look more brown than the actual swatches.  These NYX lipsticks are both dark purple with a red base and have frosted finish.  You could barely distinguish one from the other when worn.

Maybelline Amethyst Ablaze goes on sheer with a frosted finish as well.  It’s very purple, more red-based than blue and because it has sheer coverage, the color may vary depending on your natural lip color.  I suggest using lip foundation if  you have dark lips and want that vibrant purple color.

MAC Goes and Goes is a very light shade of purple with a grayish tinge to it.  With careful application, you can get even and opaque coverage out of this lipstick and because it’s from MAC’s Pro Longwear Lipcreme line, it lasts longer than regular lipstick and dries faster, thus there is less color transfer.

MAC Rebel is a bright red violet shade.  It looks more purple on the tube than when applied.  It has a satin finish and goes on opaque, it leaves a red stain when it fades.

MAC Up The Amp is lavender with light pink hue.  It’s distinctly more violet than pink in actual but looks more pink in the photos.

Lime Crime Airborne Unicorn is a blue based light violet shade with a neon undertone.   It goes on opaque and doesn’t bleed even without the use of a lip liner.

(L-R)
Sleek Mauve Over, OCC Belladonna, OCC Hoochie, Revlon Balm Stain in Darling

Sleek Mauve Over is a bright pink shade with a purple undertone.    I rarely use this on it’s own.  I bought this mostly to mix with Peekabloo and Pin Up, and when done right, I get a perfect dupe for MAC Heroine.

OCC Belladonna – this shade is blue based and very bright violet indeed.  It has a neon undertone and appears to glow at times.  I use this when I have a strong hankering for standout purple lips.

OCC Hoochie – Among all the OCC lip tars, this is the closest shade to Belladonna but it has a red undertone and doesn’t have a neon undertone.

Revlon Darling – this is perfect for low-key days when you want something moisturizing but gives color as well.

****

Which one do you like best?

Do you like purple lipstick? 🙂  I’d love to hear from you!

xx

Erika

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Odessa permalink
    January 13, 2013 3:47 pm

    ty for doing this! I have a dark complexion so I tend to lean more towards purples with sheer
    finish. I mostly use Lipslicks “Edgy” by Covergirl, that’s the best I was able to find, actual lipsticks kinda scare me. I liked the Lipslicks because they have a hint of color but not so overpowering as to make my lips look clownish, but I’d like to try something a little more polished so I have been searching. I am now interested to try the Amethyst Ablaze 🙂

    • January 14, 2013 2:31 am

      Thanks Odessa! Glad to hear my post was able to help 🙂
      I think you’ll like Amethyst Ablaze because it has sheer coverage.

  2. Jada permalink
    May 11, 2013 11:34 am

    Oh, come on, purple is never too much *-*!
    I was searching for how airborne unicorn compare to other purples/violets (we have several shades in common 😉 ). I think the neon undertone does it for me, now I must buy it T_T…
    Thank you, your swatches were very helpful <3!

    • May 13, 2013 8:05 am

      You’re welcome Jada! I’m glad you found this post helpful. 🙂 I already have MAC Heroine! and I have to agree that you can never have to many purple lipsticks. 😀

  3. Nyasia permalink
    May 22, 2013 1:46 am

    I love love love occ lip tars and purple lipstick i have hoochie but I’m a fan of bright Colors and it seems almost too tame for my skin tone I want belladonna so so bad I’ve been searching the web forever!! 😦

    • May 22, 2013 2:39 am

      are you from the Philippines? 🙂 I bought mine from an online makeup seller here.

  4. Katie ceris permalink
    June 5, 2013 10:29 pm

    Would you ever sell your belladonna? I’m in the US & have been searching for months & can’t find one

    • June 6, 2013 3:59 am

      Hi Katie, sorry but I really like it too 😦 I’ll try to ask if it’s still available in the shop I bought from. 🙂
      A

  5. dannyca permalink
    August 4, 2013 3:10 pm

    I love all the colors!! :> Can I ask where can I buy some of these?? I’m from the Philippines..

    • August 4, 2013 3:15 pm

      Hi Dannyca! I’m from the Phils. too. 🙂 I bought all of these online 🙂 for OCC lip tars, check out Make Up Pro on Facebook 🙂 MAC lipsticks- carefreeshopper, Nyx lipsticks and Sleek pout paints from Digital Traincase, Lime Crime lipstick from The Balikbayan Box Sale 🙂 all of them have Facebook pages 🙂

  6. Jena permalink
    August 15, 2013 7:29 am

    Awesome swatches!!! I want that belladonna lip tar so bad. I have mac’s heroine, I wonder how similar they are..?!
    Oh and if you ever think about selling Belladonna………let me know ;).

    • August 15, 2013 8:27 am

      I’ve swatched them side by side. Belladonna is more blue based. Heroine is more magenta. Thinking of doing a comparison swatch post actually. 🙂

  7. jerria permalink
    August 30, 2013 8:39 pm

    I am loving your reviews!! I am sooo in love with purple. And for a long time I would not wear lipstick because I could not find a shade that best fit me until I got introduced to Belladonna lip tar. And because I can not find it any where what brand and color would you suggest that is the absolute closest to that?

    • August 31, 2013 5:54 pm

      Thank you! I’m not sure if Belladonna has a dupe because it’s a really unique blue based purple. You can check out the newer OCC Lip tar shades. I’m sure they’ll have something. 🙂 If all else fails and you really want that kind of purple, get a blue and red OCC Lip tar and mix them. 🙂 Hope this helps!

  8. Becky permalink
    November 20, 2013 10:15 pm

    wah I’m so happy to find this! Excited to try out the OCC, Sleek and Lime Crime (cruelty free brands) purpley’s AHH!

  9. hannaharlow permalink
    December 6, 2013 12:31 am

    I just bought Revlons new matte balm stain in Shameless. I suggest you buy it as soon as possible, really beautiful purple, very pigmented and impossible for a purple lipstick lover to resist!

    • December 6, 2013 2:51 am

      Thanks for the recommendation Hannah. I actually ordered one already. 🙂 It does look great and I’m so excited to get it! Too bad it’s not available in Manila yet, so I had to get it online.

      Anyhow, thanks for dropping by my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

