Skip to content

How Much Is Your Face Worth?

December 3, 2012

I was blog hopping last week when I stumbled on an interesting beauty post where you calculate the “worth” of your face. By worth, they meant how much you spend on makeup and facial skincare products.

I rotate products sporadically and most of the time I forget about the products I’ve “shuffled out” from my makeup bag. I figured this would be a nice way to keep track of what products I am using, how much I actually spend on my makeup, and also share mini reviews on the products that I use for my daily look. 🙂

I’m hoping that seeing the total amount will discourage me from makeup shopping for quite some time. haha!

The products in this post are the default ones that I use often, but not regularly. Most of the makeup here are the ones I have in my bag and I take them with me when I go out of the house *except for the products in the first 2 images*. Like I’ve said earlier, I rotate them depending on my mood and on the occasion.

Anyway, let’s start with the basics 🙂

https://i2.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8204/8237030423_125b3cf951_c.jpg

L-R

Caudalie Beauty Elixir (30.00 Euros – approx. Php 2000.00), Neutrogena Hydro Boost moisturizer with SPF 30 PA+ (Php 830.00), Pond’s Gold Radiance Day Cream (Php 499.00), Tony Moly Expert Triple BB cream with SPF 45+++ (Php (930.00)

YES, I’m an SPF monster. In a country where commuting and sun exposure is unavoidable, you can never have too much SPF.

My makeup routine always starts and end with a face mist. This Caudalie Beauty elixir is by far my favorite, and unfortunately, the most expensive. It’s all natural and it has a very refreshing herbal and minty scent that never fails to relax me. I first tried this product on a trip to Paris, hence a spritz of this transports me back to that trip, over a year ago. I repurchased last month in Singapore, and a small 30mL bottle costs 29 SGD and the 100mL bottle costs 70 SGD or so. I got one of each. 🙂

I have a ton of moisturizer, so I resort to using a different one everyday, but lately I’ve been reaching for this Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel with SPF. It’s non-sticky and it feels cool on the skin and dries without any greasy residue. I actually got this for free when I was still in MEGA.

Another product I got for free was this Pond’s Gold Radiance Day Cream. I’ve long lost my enthusiasm for Pond’s products, except maybe for their facial washes. This one came with a big tube of Gold Radiance facial wash in the package I got on MEGA’s most recent 20 Most Beautiful party. So far, I haven’t noticed anything special in this cream but I didn’t want it to go to waste so I use it with my usual moisturizer.

I bought this Tony Moly Expert Triple BB Cream sometime last January after I gave it to my cousin. She was with me in Europe last year and Tony Moly wasn’t available in the US, so upon our parting, I gave her my unopened tube of BB cream. I guess we kind of traded since she also gave me a bunch of makeup at the time. Ate Mae, if you’re reading this, I must say you’re the instigator of my makeup addiction. haha!

Kidding aside, I am very satisfied with this BB cream. It’s a matte, full coverage formula. It’s non-drying and long lasting too. I like my makeup light and subtly enhancing especially when it comes to foundations or BB creams. That’s probably the reason why I find the coverage a bit heavy if I apply it on its own. I’ve taken to mixing a dollop of BB cream, moisturizer and the Pond’s day cream in my hand before applying the mixture on my face. It saves time and it gives my face the nice sheer coverage that I like.

Total: 4259.00

I will write a more extensive review on these products soon. Promise!

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8484/8238099450_e6defa4db8_c.jpg

Ever Bilena Long Lasting Loose Powder (Php 220.00), Sephora Sculpting Disk (SGD 30.00 approx. Php 1000.00)

I’m not fond of powders so I don’t really have much, nor am I particular with it. I use it mainly to set my makeup in the morning and don’t really retouch it again throughout the day.

Aside from the bristly brush, this Ever Bilena loose powder works well for me.

I wrote a brief description for this Sephora Sculpting Disk in this post. It was a bronzer/contour powder, mattifying powder and highlighter in it. I think this is cost-effective and a makeup essential when traveling if you need a contouring kit as there’s no need to bring 3 separate products. This is very mildly scented, which I like. Ladies who are particular about scented cosmetics might not like this.

Total : Php 1220.00

https://i2.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8068/8238098942_d8ccc14245_c.jpg

BYS Powder Blush in Coral (Php 235.00), MAC Satin Powder Blush in Modern Mandarin (Php 1350.00), NARS Multi Mini in Copacobana (Approx. Php 800.00)

This BYS Powder Blush is one of my recent finds. I was in SM North Edsa department store and I noticed there was something different in the beauty section. Turns out they rearranged the place to accomodate the new BYS booth. I picked up this pretty coral blush for only Php 235.00. It’s a nice peach blush with lots of shimmer. It looks nice on its own and lasts quite long but I don’t really like re touching my blush so I layer this over other blushes. It works really well as a blush-cum-highlighter.

MAC powder blush in Modern Mandarin – this is my first MAC blush which was a gift from the previous MegaStyle.PH editor. At first I was dubious that it would suit my skin tone because of the vibrant orange shade that borders on peach. The exact shade of blush I used to steer clear of. After months of using this and 5 more MAC blushes later, this is still my favorite. It’s expensive compared to other blushes but it lasts really long. I’ve used this 6g compact everyday for months and it looks like I’ve only been using it for a couple of weeks. Talk about value for money!

NARS Multi Mini in Copacobana – Another item I received as a gift. I use this mainly for highlighting my cheekbones, brow bones and the bridge of my nose. The shade is perfect for me and the glitters are very fine making this a wonderful highlighter. I also have another NARS multi in the regular size, which I rarely use, because it has horrible staying power (read: nil). Same goes for this shade, although it lasts a bit longer, probably because of the shimmer.

Total : Php 2385.00

https://i2.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8479/8237030033_f5136c5598_c.jpg

Makeup Academy Eye Shadow palette in Glamour Days (Php 400.00), Urban Decay Primer Potion travel-size (Php 400.00), Etude House Drawing Show creamy liner in double shot black (Php 498.00), Limited Edition K-Palette Liquid Eyeliner Pen in Jet Black (Php 895.00), Maybelline Diamond Glow Eye Studio palette in Copper Brown (Php 499.00), Beauty UK eyeshadow palette in Earth Child (php 300.00), Maybelline Falsies Mascara (Php 450.00)

As you can see, the bulk of items in my makeup bag are eye makeup! I’m not particular to eye makeup brands for everyday looks. Anything that is well pigmented and comes from a reliable label is fine with me. A good primer is all it takes to ensure the eyeshadow stays in place and retains its color throughout the day. Unfortunately I forgot to include my brow pencils -_-

The products above are my fool-proof yet affordable palettes. I already wrote mini reviews on some of these products in this post. 🙂

I’ll create an in-depth review on these items when I have time 🙂

Total : Php 3442.00

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8341/8238097402_6650539901_c.jpg

Etude House Kissable Lip Moisture Care (Php 198.00 ), Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm in Mango Mandarin with SPF 25 (Php 475.00), Fanny Serrano True Light Lipstick in Light Berry (Php 299.75 ), Colour Collection Lipstick in Fine Wine (Approx. Php 200.00 ) Fashion21 Lipstick in Miss Valentine (Php 150.00)

This is a hodgepodge of gifts and products I bought on a whim

The Etude House Kissable Lip care is perfect for prepping chapped and dry lips for lipstick application. It’s very light and mildly scented. It feels like diluted petroleum jelly.

Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm is more ideal for overnight wear and for cold and dry weather. I don’t apply lipstick until I arrive in the office so I apply this lip balm before leaving for work.

The rest are for when I’m too lazy to put on full makeup for the day and there’s an emergency (i.e. event, meetings, etc.). At least I have a couple of shades to choose from.

I usually pick a lipstick shade from my makeup drawer at home, depending on my outfit or mood, but since we’re talking about “daily” looks, I didn’t include it in this post. 🙂

Total : Php 1322.75

******

And now for the grand daddy of all expenses…..

Php 12,628.75

This is how much my face is worth on an average day, excluding costs of extras like additional cosmetics and makeup brushes. 🙂

******

What about you? How much is your face worth?

xx

Erika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lui permalink
    January 8, 2013 11:24 am

    On lip products: I’ve tried both expensive and inexpensive lipsticks/tints that make the lips darker. Ewan ko kung yung skin ko ang may problem o yung product mismo. :S But I’m more wary of the inexpensive ones.

    • January 8, 2013 11:47 am

      Maybe you have sensitive skin and there’s some ingredient that doesn’t agree with your skin. Better to stick with hypoallergenic or products made for sensitive skin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

