Skip to content

What’s in My Makeup Bag?

August 27, 2012

Being exposed to the latest fashion and beauty trends is very detrimental to a girl’s wallet.

 Try working in a fashion and beauty magazine, and I swear, all your savings will fly off your bank account.  Beautiful things will tempt you left and right .  You need to have a will of iron if you want to hold on to your hard earned money.

But try as I might, there are just some things (okay, A LOT of things) that I simply couldn’t resist.  I noticed that lately, I’ve been beefing up my daily makeup kit.  By “daily makeup kit” that means the set that I bring with me everywhere.  I used to have a tiny tiny bag for this but it’s now impossible for me not to carry more beauty products.

When I just started working, I used to do my makeup at home.  As in, everything.

6 months later, it is now impossible to wake me earlier than 6:00am.  So I resorted to carrying a kit with me.  I still do the basics at home (prep, primer, foundation, blush, brows, setting powder) and wait until I get to the office to retouch then apply my eye makeup and lipstick.

I now present to you the most recent edition of my makeup kit.

Brace yourself as this is a rather long post with mini reviews in between.  😛

All my daily essentials are currently stuffed into this Vince Camuto pouch.  I need to replace it with a bigger one soon as I just got myself some new makeup palettes that can no longer fit in this bag.   I purchased most of the items in my kit, while some of them were gifts from friends or from MEGA’s beauty asst. Max Ignacio. 🙂

Eyeshadow Palettes (clockwise : Maybelline Copper Brown palette, Sleek i-Divine Storm palette, Beauty UK Earth Child palette)

I used to bring random Revlon 16-hour eyeshadow palettes depending on my mood and outfit.  But the sucky pigmentation put me off after a while so I bought this Maybelline palette:

The shades are perfect for everyday use, plus the colors are well pigmented and they don’t smudge despite my long work hours. 🙂

Unfortunately, makeup doesn’t last forever, and after months of ab-use, the bottom of the pans are now very much visible 😦  That’s when I opted to purchase this Beauty UK palette.

It’s small enough to fit into my bag but it has a wider color selection.   The pigment of this palette isn’t as nice as Maybelline’s but better than Revlon’s.  Not bad at all, considering that this palette is only P300.00 while Maybelline is around P499.00 and the Revlons are P750.00 each.

But then I saw another promising palette, and ended up buying it…

SLEEK i-Divine Storm palette

I love love loooooove this palette!  All the colors I want and need are here and the quality is at par with those from more expensive brands.  Nudes and shades of brown for everyday looks and dark metallics for those impromptu night outs.   It’s just PERFECT.

This palette is twice the size of the Beauty UK palette, so if you compare it to the Maybelline Copper brown which has passable quality and 4 colors, this palette is the winner on all counts. And it’s only P650.00.  Ain’t that a steal? This is the reason why I need to get a bigger makeup bag.  It’s a bit bigger than my eye shadow palettes but I reeeeally want to bring it with me. :))  It’s like a cheaper and more versatile version of the NAKED palette. 🙂

I am sorely tempted to get another Sleek i-Divine palette , though I can’t decide which one to get. They’re having a sale right now and I feel a bit pressured to make up my mind asap… I am so torn. -_-

While I’m being ridiculously indecisive, let me show you some of the more recent additions to my kit:

These are my “face makeup”

(clockwise : The Face Shop Flawless Fitting Foundation by Dae Sik, Elf Studio powder blush in Tickled Pink, L’oreal True Match blush in Pink Grapefruit, K-Palette Okuma concealer Type 1, Palladio shimmer strips in Beige)

One of the perks of working in a magazine is you get free makeup and cosmetics in advance. 😉  *thanks Max!*

I just tried this foundation today and I love it already.  It goes on evenly and smoothly without a primer and it made my skin look dewy and flawless all day. ❤

Clockwise

ELF Studio powder Blush : I use this only when I need to retouch or when I forget to apply my MAC blush at home.   It’s very powder-y and light.  Perfect for a no-makeup-but-rosy look.  It’s not my usual shade since I lean more towards peach-y or dark pink blushes, but it was the only color available when I was desperate to buy a new one.

Palladio Shimmer strips : I randomly spotted this while window shopping in Beauty Bar and it reminded me of Bobbi Brown shimmer bricks, so I picked one up just for kicks.  I love multi-purpose products and this product really packs a punch.  It can be a highlighter, shimmer skin finish and eye shadow all in one convenient compact.  What’s more is it’s mineral based, long lasting and costs only P450.00.

As you can see, I am a sucker for affordable but good quality makeup. 🙂

K-Palette Okuma Concealer Type 1 : This is another one of Max’s (MEGA’s beauty assistant) giveaways. 🙂  I love the consistency and coverage of this concealer.  It’s light and non sticky, although I have to remember to re apply as it fades after 3 to 4 hours.  But it could be because I tend to wipe my face a lot.   This is one of my makeup essentials.

L’oreal True Match Blush in Pink Grapefruit : A friend gave this to me.  At first glance, I thought it would be very pigmented.  I was disappointed to find that the shimmer overpowers the color of the blush.  It reminds me a bit of NARS Orgasm.  I know almost everyone likes NARS Orgasm, so please don’t hate me for saying I don’t like it, at all.   I find that it defeats the purpose of being a blush-on if it highlights more than deliver a burst of color to your cheeks.   I keep it in my makeup kit for those random moments when I need a blush/highlighter.

And now, it’s time to show you my everyday makeup brushes.

What makeup kit would be complete without them brushes?

I have lots of other brushes here at home but the ones I bring with me all the time are these three.

top to bottom: eyeshadow brush, blending brush, contour brush

I’m not particular with my makeup brushes so I mostly use the eyeshadow brush for my eye makeup and the contour brush for applying blush, highlighter, shimmer and for contouring.

Mascaras anyone?

Revlon 3D Photoready Mascara in Black, and Maybelline Falsies

I’m not really a lash person.  I don’t curl my lashes because it goes right back to being straight after I apply my mascara.  The curse of having flat and limp hair extends to my eyelashes. 😦

The Revlon mascara is a gift from Max, while I bought the Maybelline Falsies on a sale.  Both are waterproof and effectively volumizes and lengthens my lashes, though I still prefer the Maybelline Falsies. 🙂

Here’s the rest of my eye makeup arsenal:

top to bottom:

Etude House Eyebrow pencil : I love this pencil!  It’s cheap, pigmented and long lasting.  It also comes with a brush that you can use to smudge and soften the lines you drew or comb your eyebrows. 🙂

NYX Jumbo eye pencil in Yogurt : Another one of my favorite affordable finds. I use this mostly to line my lower lids to “open” my eyes and maked them look wide awake.

San San Waterproof eyeliner and K-Palette 24 hour tattoo eyeliner : These 2 liquid liners work really well for me, it  just depends on which one I feel like using.  Both liners glide on smoothly and lasts all day without smudging.  I actually find that the San San lasts longer than K-Palette because it doesn’t get rubbed off.  at only P85.00, San San eyeliner has earned a permanent place in my kit.

KIKO cosmetics eyeliner in matta occhi : My favorite eyeliner brand from Italy.  I am still lamenting the fact that I threw away my spare and unused KIKO pencil by mistake. -_- This pencil is more charcoal gray than black and smudges a bit so I don’t use it very often.

Jordana Auto eyeliner in black : this was given to me by a friend just last week and I am yet to wear it all day.  But so far, I like the color consistency of this eyeliner.

Nichido Eyeliner in Deep violet : a break from all the black liners.  It’s a very vibrant shade of purple.  I use this only when I’m feeling adventurous.

ELF Eyebrow kit : I broke my eyebrow pencil from Etude House and I needed a replacement.  I saw good reviews for this in Totalbeauty.com so I decided to give it a try and I do like it, esp. the eyebrow powder.  It helps lighten my brows a bit whenever I end up with heavily lined brows.  *it’s so hard to perfect those eyebrow lines!*

Etude House Drawing Show Cream Liner : My favorite gel liner.  I prefer this to liquid liner because it makes a darker, more precise and long lasting eyeliner.   I just hate cleaning the brush after every use so I don’t use it as often as I want to.

Lip balms

Etude House Kissable Lip Moisture Care :  This is very much like MAC lip conditioner at a fraction of the price.  I wear this under my lipstick all the time to prevent chapped lips.

Tony Moly Cherry Lip Balm : a gift from MEGA’s beauty editor Kim.  This was the first item I received from an editor and I really love how it smells and feels on my lips.  Smelling it makes me want to lick it off the container sometimes. :))

Lip Smacker Jumbo lip balm in bubble gum and Chapstick cherry – back up lip balms I use when I need to  moisturize my lips but I don’t want to add any trace of  color.

Lip gloss

(from top to bottom)

G-lish in Paparazzi and Homecoming Queen – I hoard these colors whenever I pass by the G-lish store in Megamall.  I love Paparazzi because it’s the perfect “my lips but better” shade.   Homecoming Queen is a  bit more sparkly and pink-ish so I reserve it for the times when I’m too lazy to apply lipstick but still feel like having some color on my lips.

Avon Sparkle lip gloss – my favorite glittery nude gloss.  It goes with any look, day or night.  I like wearing it on its own or on top  of nude or brown lipstick.

The Face Shop Fruit Jelly Tube – This was given to me by a former officemate.  To be honest I kind of hate the formula of this lip gloss so I rarely use it.  It’s a pity though because the color is really nice.

Lip Rock  – this is a free lip gloss I got when I bought a magazine on my London trip.  It’s passable and the shade is decent so I tote it around because it would be ignored forever if I don’t.

Fashion 21 lipstick in Miss Valentine – My back up lipstick.  I usually carry 2 or 3 lipsticks, but I switch shades depending on what I’m wearing and what mood I’m in.  But this tube stays in my kit all the time as the “just in case” lipstick.  It has a nice creamy consistency and vibrant fuchsia shade that looks nice with anything without being boring.

Etude House Auto Lip Liner – I interchange lip liners depending on what lipsticks I have as well, but in this case, this one doesn’t match the lipstick.  -_- I try to work with it by hiding it under dark colored lipsticks whenever I forget to change shades.

Extras

Avene eau Thermale – Thermal water face mist.  It’s like Evian’s face mist spray only better.  I use this to refresh after my morning commute or to re-set my makeup after a long day.  It’s the key in making your face and makeup look and feel fresh all the time. 🙂

Visine eye drops – My eyes tends to dry up or hurt after long hours in front of the computer so I always keep a bottle of Visine handy.  It refreshes my eyes with just a few drops.

Laneige Lip and Eye makeup remover  – It’s tiny, hypoallergenic and it works!  What’s not to love?  Perfect for removing smudged makeup or when you need to repair botched makeup.

Kleenex oil blotter – you never know when you’ll get shiny and oily face during the day. I have dry/combination skin  and it confuses me sometimes because there are times when my face is so oily on the T-zone and sometimes it’s so dry I need to double dose on the moisturizer.  I keep this with me for those rare moments when my forehead and nose gets oily. 

So that’s my daily makeup kit.  I used to commute everyday and I bring this with me everywhere, which is why it’s composed mainly of affordable beauty products.  I’ve read about beauty bloggers who accidentally left or lost their makeup kit somewhere.  You never know when those incidents will happen until it’s done so I keep my expensive makeup at home.  That way, even if I lose this kit, I wouldn’t feel so bad.  🙂

Whew!  That was one loooong beauty post.

What about you?  What’s in your makeup bag?

xx

Erika

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 4:52 am

    i have the same problem. my makeup kit expanded when i started working in the biz.

    • August 27, 2012 4:54 am

      dibaaa? and it’s still expanding! -_- no wonder Kim’s kikay kit is an entire tote bag :))

  2. August 27, 2012 5:06 am

    I see some products that I’ve used before and some products that I really want to try out! Thanks for sharing this, Erika! Made me want to go shop for some of the items here. Haha!

    • August 27, 2012 5:12 am

      yay! I’m glad you liked it 🙂 Tag me on your next haul post!

  3. October 30, 2012 12:57 pm

    I’ve recently developed this love for make-up. Who knows what my make up bag will look like in 3 months -_-‘

    • October 30, 2012 1:56 pm

      too true! My makeup bag and collection ballooned like nobody’s business just a few months after I started working in MEGA.

Trackbacks

  1. How Much Is Your Face Worth? « The Erika Loca Files

Leave a Reply

