Skip to content

All That Rainbow and Glitters

February 5, 2012

Remember the Bobbie Holo nail polish line I couldn’t stop raving about here and on twitter?  Well, I finally swatched them, along with some of my other holo nail polish that looked similar to some of the colors.  I will be making a separate post for the “dupes” though.

Let me tell you in advance that the rainbow shimmer isn’t very visible in the photos because it’s hard to capture it without direct sunlight.  They look so much better in real life! The story of my swatches. lol

Anyway! Are you ready for a very photo heavy post? 😀

Let’s start with Vodka on Ice!

Vodka on Ice is a pearly gray shade that looks silver when on the bottle because of the metallic shimmer of the holographic glitters.  I’m actually surprised of its opacity.  Most Bobbie nail polish are very sheer (see this post for my previous Bobbie nail polish review) and you to apply 3-5 coats to make it look good enough, but with this nail polish, two coats were good enough, but I added another one because it made the color more intense and the holo glitters are also more pronounced.

I love silvery nail polish though it tends to make my hands look browner in comparison and when the metallic sparkle in it starts to become dull, which happens in a matter of days, it makes me want to remove it.  Much as I like this color, it’s not my favorite from this collection.

Mojito.  It’s an awkward shade of light maroon that leans more toward red violet.  I couldn’t quite place the color, but it is my favorite from the collection.  As you can see from the swatches, the holo glitters are more visible than in Vodka on Ice.   The formula is also good.  Just two coats and it’s already opaque.  Glides on the nails well without any streaks (yay!).  I love how this color looks because it’s a good contrast for my coloring and looks good even when the glitters becomes dull.

Yet another awkward shade of blue.  Bluish gray, easy on the eyes and easy to like, yes?  This is my second favorite, next to the Mojito.

Mudslide.  The much raved about color from this collection.  I must say that it is a good dupe for Butter London’s All Hail the Queen.  This is a mixture of beige and brown, which makes it look lighter.  I like this since chocolate brown polish doesn’t appeal to me at all.  The formula of mudslide is more sheer compared to the first three, nevertheless, it suits the lightness of the color and the coverage is still pretty good after 2-3 coats.

I seemed to have lost my swatches for Margarita, but I do remember that it has a nice coverage and I liked it even though it’s pink.  I don’t like pink very much, but this one was good enough for me to make an exception.  I’ll post a swatch for this when I get the time to do so, but for now, just imagine that shade of pink on my nails with holo glitters. 😀

Mint Daiquiri.  I have no idea why it has “mint” in the name when there is clearly no hint of green anywhere in it. :)) “Pina Colada” would have been more appropriate to this golden yellow nail polish.  Again, you can’t see the rainbow holo glitters in the photos but I swear, it’s really there. :))   The formula is a bit sheer, again, but I still like it.

I like gold nail polish, but just like silver nail polish, they tend to make your hands look dark and dull.  Or maybe it’s just me.

Purple Passion.  I was disappointed with this one.  It was too sheer, even after applying 3 coats.  I would have loved this color if it was a bit darker and opaque.  This is my least favorite color from the collection.  I’ve heard of how disappointing this color was, but I still wanted to see it for myself.  I should have listened and saved myself a little money. :))

Overall, I think this collection is really great!  It’s at par with some imported brands (e.g. Butter London), better than some (E.g. Cutex) but still not on the same level as the holos from A England, Nails Inc.,  Koh and The Face Shop.

Drying time for these nail polishes were good since the formula was opaque enough and there’s no need to over apply, which is not the case with some Bobbie nail polish.  I’d still recommend using a fast dry top coat because it will help speed up the drying time (obviously).  By the way Bobbie nail polish starts to chip 3 days after application, so if you want it to last longer, it’s a good idea to apply super hard top coat from Sally Hansen (hey, at least you only have to splurge on ONE bottle instead of 7).

I also found out that Bobbie nail polish is DBP, Formaldehyde and Toluene free!  So hoard your own bottles of these super affordable holos before the stores run out of it, or worse, phases them out! 😮

And because this post is so late ( I was supposed to post this last Thursday), I took the liberty of posting some more swatches and  Nail of the Day photos. 🙂

Index, Middle and Pinky fingers : Cutex Some Kind of Wonder Blue

Thumb and Ring finger : Bobbie Supernova

I’ve obsessed over MAC Ocean Dip long enough to accumulate a number of similar looking nail polish that is more affordable and available locally.  At first, I thought Caronia’s On The Go (which I wrote about on this post) was a dupe but I realized it was much darker and had a grayish tinge to it.  It’s the reason why this color from Cutex won’t stop haunting my dreams. :)) I finally bought it last week and I must say it’s really worth it.  Check out the link to MAC Ocean Dip, I swear that Cutex Some Kind of Wonder Blue is a dead ringer for it.

As for Bobbie’s Supernova, it’s a good enough dupe for Deborah Lippman’s Across the Universe, if you can ignore the difference in the shapes of the glitters and DL is a bit darker.

Index, Middle and Pinky fingers : Bobbie Solar Burst

Thumb and Ring finger : Bobbie The Big Bang

I already wrote about DL Happy Birthday and that Bobbie’s The Big Bang is a passable dupe for it. You can see for yourself now if it looks similar enough here.  In my opinion, it’s not quite IT, but for P30.00, I can’t really complain.  DL Happy Birthday was Limited Edition and it costs about 16 USD.  The glitters in Bobbie’s Heavenly Glitz collection  (Supernova, Solar Burst, The Big Bang, etc.) area bit sparse when applied but nothing that a second and third coat can’t fix.  Just make sure to use a super fast dry top coat when you do that. :))

I apologize for the delay on this post (in case you were waiting or looking forward to it).  I was sidetracked by a Gossip Girl DVD and some friends who invited me  to watch The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  :)) It’s a good movie, but if you haven’t read the book, I suggest you watch this with someone who did so he/she can explain some of the details for you.

That’s all for now! Will post the rest of my blog-lags after I eat something.  I’m starving!

xoxo

Erika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 5:25 am

    pretty colors! xx

    p.s. I’m having a giveaway from the leather satchel co. if you’d like to check it out. 🙂
    devorelebeaumonstre.com

    • February 9, 2012 11:14 am

      thanks! will check it out. thanks for the heads up 🙂

Leave a Reply

