Skip to content

Better Late Than Never

December 31, 2011

This is the last part of my Europe haul posts.

I finally remembered to post it just when I was about to go offline today. :))

(1) Let’s start with these.  Magazines from London and random books I picked up in Olympia, Vatican, Vienna and Monaco.  Don’t let these little things fool you.   I bet they were behind 1/2 of the excess in my allowed baggage weight. haha!  It was well worth it though.

At first I resolved not to buy any books and magazines, so I ignored all the magazine stands and bookstores until I just could stand it anymore and caved in. :))

(2) Leather bound journal from Florence, Italy.  I have a thing (make that a really BIG thing) for any kinds of paper or notebook, especially if the cover design is funky, retro, vintage or minimalist.   Put me and my obsession in the middle of Florence where shops full of quills, wax seal stamping sets, quaint looking journals and the like abound and I feel like an absolute miser trying to decide which one I should get.  Sigh.  If only I didn’t have to worry about how heavy they were.

I settled for this exquisitely crafted leather bound journal from a leather factory in Florence.

Being me, I almost bought two since I can’t decide between the red and green one.   Thank goodness we couldn’t stay long in the shop so I just closed my eyes and grabbed one of them. :))  And because my cousin won’t stop tempting me, not to mention how she “dissed” my paper wallet, I also got myself a Givenchy wallet. :)) I thought my mom would kill me when she finds out, but she didn’t. 😀 😀   I breathed a huge sigh of relief when she said the wallet is nice. :))

(3) Penholder

One of Peruzzi’s signature products.  The foldable containers that they make in various colors and sizes.  I should have gotten a red one instead of black… But oh well.  Too late.   I love its distinct leather scent and the intricately embossed gold leaf design.

AH! My favorite souvenir!

I collected pins form every place went to, excluding Spain and France, since I only started collecting once we arrived in Italy.  They were all over the place and I simply couldn’t resist, especially when I realized they would look amazing when pinned together on an artist beret. ❤  Some of them were a bit too expensive (like the ones from Lucerne and Vienna) but they were all worth it in the end.  The little things would’ve haunted me to no end if I didn’t buy them.

Meet my favorite lace up wedges from Urban Outfitters and Zara heels.  Zara is dirt cheap in Barcelona!  I’m definitely coming back to shop till I drop three times and visit Montserrat and re-visit Sagrada Familia.

I was so shocked when I saw Fatima Rabago wearing the exact same heels from Zara on a fashion spread with Divine Lee.  Even the color was the same!

I’m so proud of myself! I haven’t bought any black high heels recently! Achievement! :))

Last but not the least, flats!

I noticed that I don’t have a lot of flats in my wardrobe and it makes me feel like a cripple sometimes, soooo when I was in Spain,  I hoarded a few pairs from Zara and Dorothy Perkins when I was in London. ❤  So excited to use the glittery leopard print ones!  I remember my cousin saying it’s “Bonggels sa glitter” when I was trying it on. haha!

So, that concludes my Europe haul posts, though I excluded the best ones (clothes, handbag, etc.) para suspense pagdating sa outfit posts. haha!

On a somewhat unrelated note (warning: I am about to be emotional) 2011 was a blast and even though it will be over in a few hours, I will always look back to this year oh-so fondly because…

I finally graduated from college and went to my favorite continent to travel.  (Hello Europe.  Wait for me because I’ll be back! :P)

I lost someone important but I learned from it and became a stronger person.  Angkong,  I will always miss you, and somehow I still feel sad that you’re no longer with us, but I know you’re in a better place now.  I love you so much.

I’ve also met and made new friends from a lot of different places.  You guys helped me learn new things and have fun in whatever we had and where we were at the moment.  You all made my life more interesting and fun this year, and for that I think I can’t thank you enough.  🙂

I finally mapped out what I want to be.  I’m not saying what it is here, lest I jinx myself. :)) What I chose to be won’t be easy to achieve.  But I’ve made up my mind and I am determind to see it through no matter what it takes.  Besides, nothing ever comes easy in life, yes?

Just 2 more hours before January 1, 2012.

Stay safe and have fun everyone!

I hope 2012 will be another great year for all of us!

xoxo

Erika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 3:17 am

    I, too, would have a hard time keeping myself from shopping in mag shops!
    Love your UO heels by the way!

    • January 7, 2012 11:54 am

      Hi Fabi! Thank youuu! It’s too difficult to resist the magazines in all their glossy glory, no? 🙂
      I’m a fan of your blog by the way!! 😀

Leave a Reply

