Skip to content

So I Went Just A Little Crazy Part 2

December 5, 2011

As promised, here’s the second part of my haul posts.  I think the remaining stuff will take up to two or maybe just one more post.

I’m not including the clothes or my major purchases since I’m reserving it for my outfit posts :))

Shall we start? 😉

Murano glass necklaces.  I got these  in Burano, an island that is a few hours away from Venice.  I’m not a fan of those rubber kind of straps so I’m switching them with chain necklaces as soon as I get some free time to do so.

It was refreshing to visit Burano since it wasn’t so crowded, unlike Venice which is full of tourists.  As an added bonus, the people in the village sells souvenirs at a fraction of the price than if you buy them in Venice.  They also have shops that sells traditional clothes, lace umbrellas, handmade Venetian masks and other murano glass products like figurines, vases etc.

It’s a place worth visiting if ever you are in the Venice area. 🙂

random eco bags I picked up in Barcelona, Vienna and London. 🙂

A quilted bag from Dorothy Perkins.  I’m not very fond of quilted bags since they seem too generic to me, but this looked like an awesome hybrid of the new quilted bags from Dior and the classic Chanel flap bags, and at 20 GBP, I just couldn’t let it go.  I consider it a major achievement that I didn’t buy the red one as well. :))  I tend to buy two colors of the same or similar products when I really like it. :))  As you’ll see later.

Cocktail rings from C&A.  It’s a Belgian brand, and it’s similar to H&M(trendy but affordable), but not so popular outside of Europe.

I got these in Lucerne.  I was hunting down the shop that sells pins and the Fondue House when I stumbled into this shop and ended up buying two rings and 10 pairs of socks. :))  Talk about impulse buying.

Necklace, rings, pins, all from Freedom by Topshop (London)

I was overwhelmed by the number of people in Topshop stores and the rows upon rows of fabulous clothes, shoes, bags and accessories. 😐  It proved too much to resist and I ended up spending too much on accessories, so I had to pass up on the pair of shoes and bag I was eyeing in River Island.   I never knew how I managed to leave the body chains and spiked rings behind.  Thank goodness they’re not haunting me when I remember them. :))

Left : Venetian Glass Blown pendant

Right : Bracelets from the Vatican City

I wasn’t planning on buying anything from the Venetian Glass Blowing factory store but I had to get something for an aunt and I ended up buying a pendant for myself after seeing how fabulous they are.  It looks rather ordinary but when raised up to direct light, it lights up and makes it looks like it’s glowing.  Not to mention all the work they put into making these tiny things.   Every single flower in that pendant is a shard of glass that is made one by one then put together carefully to create the designs, then it is cut up before being joined together by melted blue glass.   I’m making a separate posts on my visit to the glass factory.  Check back later if you’re interested.  🙂

Who would have expected to find wonderful and intricately designed bracelets in the Vatican city?  Definitely not me.

I’m not religious at all , but these bracelets were too pretty to pass up.  Each piece has the image of a cross and the virgin Mary, while the other one has different saints on each metal bead.

they even come in these special cases.  They also have limited edition rosaries that comes in elaborately designed cases.  I don’t like rosaries much, so I bought some of them to give away.

left – right

Traditional Greek weapon, earring form :))

Cameo ring, opals on silver rings, traditional Greek style ring

All of those you can see above except for the Cameo ring, are real silver and handmade in Olympia, Greece.  I also bought the most amazing silver bib necklace in Olympia, but I’m not showing it here just yet 😛  It deserves a special post too. :))

Anyway, I was tempted to bargain for these items but if you saw the hands of the man who made them, you would have balked at doing that too.  So I didn’t, and I don’t even regret it.  I also can’t decide on the two opal rings so I got them both. :))  Remember my, can’t-pick-between-two-good-things dilemma?  It definitely applied to this one.  I think I spent hours walking around other shops trying to make up my mind on which one to get. :))  Oh well.

The Cameo ring, I got in Pompeii.  I bought it because I thought my cousin likes it, but apparently, she doesn’t.  So it ended up going home with me :))

No, I didn’t buy a Greek guy. :))  This is Aggelo, or Angelo (English name) and my cousin, ate Mae.

Aggelo owns a shop in Olympia and he designed and made those silver accessories up there.   You can’t see his hands well but I’m telling you, they were full of scratches from making accessories.  He was one of the nicest people I met in Europe.  Greeks are generally warmer to tourists than most Europeans and they are very genuine people.  They don’t feign interest while talking to you or pressure you just to get you to buy their stuff.

He even gave me a pair of earrings and the ring on the rightmost side shown in that photo up there ^when I brought my cousin back   with me the next day.  She couldn’t resist the accessories either :)) I think she ended up buying more stuff than I did :))

Last but not the least, Swarovski encrusted suede leather bracelets from Innsbruck.

I also bought pens, but I didn’t take any photos of them.

If you saw how many colors they have for these bracelets, you would be wondering how I left with just two pieces. :))

 Definitely another one of those can’t-pick-just-one moments!

I’ve always wanted studded leather bracelets, but I can’t find good enough ones here.  They’re always low quality, not my type, overpriced and just lacking to me.  But these are just perfect! 😀  I can’t wait to wear them!!!

Can’t wait to finish all the haul posts so I can get on with the rest of my stories! :))

Later everyone!

xoxo

Erika

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:29 pm

    thanks for your warm words about Greeks. Greeks are very helpful and warm to tourists. they are known for their hospitality.
    I love all the things you bought, but mostly the swarovski bracelets, and the coctail ring from C&A ( I remember buying a jacket from there when I went to Germany some years ago).

    • December 15, 2011 1:43 am

      I love Greece! Are you Greek? 🙂
      C&a has a lot of nice stuff! I didn’t feel like shopping for clothes when I was there though :))
      By the way, thank you so much for reading my blog! ❤

  2. July 16, 2012 4:05 pm

    Hey!
    I was wondering how much was those swarovski bracelets? THX

    • July 17, 2012 4:23 am

      hi Iv 🙂 They’re 55 euros each. If I remember correctly.

Leave a Reply

