Skip to content

Pearls, Stones, Chains and Bones

September 24, 2011

Remember the old lady I mentioned in a previous post?

The one I was really annoyed at for criticizing what

I wear to school?

Well she never criticized me again

and I didn’t really want to talk to her again

after that incident but for some strange

reason, I just can’t bring myself to keep on ignoring her :))

Who would’ve thought she’d make one of my ordinary

school days a really really good day?

I just want to share this with you guys because receiving gifts

makes me feel really happy and appreciated.

And I also love the feeling of seeing someone happy

after I give them a small token/gift.

One time, I made a batch of korean sushi

and brought some with me to school to share to my classmates.

She really liked it and even told me I could

start a business by selling kimbap. lol

Then last week, she saw my earrings.

Here’s a photo:

I was supposed to describe it but then words won’t be enough to describe them.

They’re a gift from my mother and tita.

The same tita who always gives me a bunch of accessories and clothes when she feels like it.

More on that later.

My tita was the one who brought round ivory beads

to an artisan in Bangkok to carve intricate looking flowers in the otherwise

plain-looking ivory beads, while my mom had a jewelry maker

custom make the earring thingy.

Aren’t they gorgeous? 🙂

Moving on!

Mama Ely (the old lady, as I like to call her :D)

said the earrings were really pretty and

the next day, she randomly passed me this cute little thing:

I thought that was it so I looked at her,

my eyebrows all scrunched up.

What am I supposed to do with it?

She just smiled mysteriously.

So I slipped the thing in my bag and thanked her.

But I got curious and took it out again.

I accidentally discovered that it opens on one side

and it’s actually a container…

reminds me of duck beak to be honest :))

and it contains this:

Real pearl earrings 😮

I was so astonished I wanted to return it

but I didn’t want to offend her by doing so.

When I did talk to her about it, she just waved it off

saying it’s not that expensive.

So I just thanked her and went home, feeling real happy.

Thank you mama Ely 😀

I hope you continue until level 4 (and up) because

I’ll miss your antics in class if you don’t.  >:D<

As for my tita, I mentioned in another post

that she liked to give me some random stuff like these :

This is my favorite:

It’s called Tiger’s eye.

It reminds me of those holograms attached on

cereal boxes back in the 90’s.

The ones that change images when you tilt them?

Come on, you can’t be that much younger than me.

I know you can remember. hahaha!

Anyhoo, it reminds me of holograms because it also changes color

when you tilt it back and forth. 🙂

This is how I like to wear them:

in combinations of three 🙂

some random flower shaped stones

and a jar shaped rose quartz.

Remember my inheritance from my brother?

Here it is, after I changed the necklace into this fine black chain.

This is called Amber, a fossilized tree resin.

The reason behind the title of this post

(just in case you’re interested/wondering)

are the items in the post.

Pearl earrings, stone pendants, necklace chains

and bones may apply to Ivory though I intended it

more for the Amber necklace because it is a kind of fossil

and it could preserve small pieces of bones or small insects.

And it does have a nice ring to it, don’t you think?

I do hope you found this post interesting 🙂

I am drawn to stuff that I can use for a long time

even if they’re a bit more expensive, rather than

cheaper items that wears and tears quickly.

I think I wrote about it before about shoe shopping :))

Well it applies to accessories too.

All the pieces above have been with me for years,

(except for the earrings)

but I can still wear them with most of my outfits because

they’re very versatile and goes with anything

without being boring.

Well that’s it for today.

I’ll be writing a post about nail art

and the Port 88 bazaar tomorrow.

Buenas Noches!

Erika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 4:09 pm

    Love the Ivory Floral earrings!

Leave a Reply

