Skip to content

Banapple Revisited

July 6, 2011

I mentioned in my last post that my

friend and I had dinner in Banapple in Greenhills.

I haven’t been posting about it

the other times I went there because

I didn’t have my camera with me.

It’s one of our favorite restaurants

(obviously)

but they do have dishes that disappointed us as well.

On my last visit to their Katipunan branch

I tried the classic Pecan Pie and I am never ordering that again.

It’s a total sugar bomb.  I can’t taste anything other than the sugar.

It didn’t even have a crust on the bottom

just pure gooey sugar + caramel with some candied pecans on top.

It was toothache inducing.  I don’t know anything about baking

but I know that that Pecan Pie is abhorrent.

Here’s what we had for dinner:

Herb Chicken Rolls for my friend

(This is our favorite but I opted to order something else because I had this the last time I went to Banapple)

and Salpicao Rafael for me.

The moment I tried this, I knew I should have ordered

something else.

It doesn’t taste like Salpicao at all.

It’s like Beef Teriyaki except for the hint of bagoong in it.

It would have been okay if the meat wasn’t tough and rubbery.

Most of it were edible but some were just too tough

it’s like chewing on rubber tires.

Another addition to my never order again list.

Dessert:

Banoffee Pie

Honey Crunch Slice

close up 🙂

I have a thing for sponge cakes

and this is the first time I’ve seen this cakse in Banapple

so of course it’s what I ordered. 😀

It was good!

I thought it tastes to familiar on my first bite.

I kept mulling over it until I realized what it tasted like.

Yema.

The icing isn’t your typical sugar and egg white mix

but creamier and even sticky like yema.

This is my favorite cake in Banapple. 🙂

It was our first time in Banapple GH.

The ambience is better than their main branch

and in Morato because it isn’t so crowded and

you won’t feel like you have to leave immediately after eating because there are

no customers waiting for tables to be cleared.

That’s all for today.

XOXO

Erika

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

